The ABB Sponsored Bomem-Michelson Award


Latest Information

Professor Richard Van Duyne has been selected as the Bomem-Michelson awardee for 2010. The award will be presented at Pittcon 2010, February 28 - March 5, 2010, Orange County Convention Center, Orlando, Florida. The award session is tentatively scheduled for March 2nd.

History and Nomination Process

This award is dedicated to the memory of Professor A. E. Michelson, developer of the Michelson interferometer. ABB sponsors the award to honor scientists who have advanced the technique(s) of vibrational, molecular, Raman, or electronic spectroscopy. Contributions may be theoretical, experimental, or both. The recipient must be actively working and may be associated with the academic, industrial, government, or private sector. The Awardee must be at least 37 years of age. The award consists of a crystal symbol of the Bomem–Michelson award and an honorarium. In order to ensure that the award is based on an independent evaluation of the candidate’s achievements, the selection is made by a committee chosen by the Coblentz Society.

The Award is presented each year at the Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy. The ABB sponsored Bomem-Michelson Award Symposium is held in honor of the awardee and immediately follows the presentation.

Recipients of the Bomem-Michelson Award are listed below.

The nomination should include a resume of the candidates’ career as well as the special research achievements that make the candidate an eligible nominee for the ABB sponsored Bomem–Michelson Award. Files on nominees will be kept active for three years, after which the candidate must either be renominated with an updated file or the file will be closed. The nominating letter and supporting letters should be sent to the chair of the Bomem-Michelson selection committee. Nominations will close May 1st.

2010-2011 Chair
Professor Robin L. Garrell
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Box 951569
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1569
Phone: (310) 825-2496



Past Award Winners

2010 Richard Van Duyne
2009 Martin Quack
2008 Geraldine Richmond
2007 David F. Bocian
2006 Robert W. Field
2005 Paul Bohn
2004 Dave Haaland
2003 Peter Griffiths
2002 Dan Nevmark
2001 Larry Nafie
2000 John F. Rabolt
1999 Sandy Asher
1998 Bruce Chase
1997 William H. Woodruff
1996 Ira W. Levin
1995 Terry A. Miller
1994 Herbert L. Strauss
1993 Jack L. Koenig
1992 Jyrki Kauppinen
1991 Alan Pine
1990 William Klemperer
1989 Richard Saykally
1988 W. Carl Linberger
1987 Thomas G. Spiro

  Return to The Coblentz Society home page